Virtual Convention : Race to Net Zero
Coming Soon
Convention Overview
Build a sustainable and resilient COPE-BEST Community of Practice

among national, regional and global networks of universities, industry, policy makers and civil society.

Showcase energy sustainability (ES) best practices, open innovations, winners of R&D invention

awards and energy awards from universities, industry, policymakers and civil society.

Foster partnership among energy stakeholders

from universities, industry, policy makers and civil society

Catalyse and promote adoption of innovative ES technologies and practices

through local, regional and global partnership for the goals.

COPE-BEST 2023 expects to attract over 1000 participants from ASEAN and beyond, following the COPE-BEST 2022 success of mobilising 1120 participants from more than 20 countries. About 65% is expected to come from the industry sector, 10% from policymakers and 25% from academia and civil societies. COPE-BEST participants comprise organisational leaders and managers, policy makers, expert practitioners/engineers, consultants, auditors, researchers, educators, and university students.

  • Day
  • Hour
  • Min
  • Sec
Key Topics
Key Statistics For COPE-BEST 2021
The first convention to synergise Best Practices and Innovations in Energy Sustainability, Energy Efficiency and Conservation, COPE-BEST 2021 is held virtually on 28-29 July 2021.
Policy Makers
COPE-BEST 2021 Speakers
UTM and Director (R&D), Optimal Systems Engineering, Malaysia
Professor Ir. Ts. Dr. Sharifah Rafidah Wan Alwi is a Professor in the School of Chemical and Energy Engineering, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia. She is an expert resource minimisation consultant for multiple industries and is among the leading researchers in resource integration technique development. Prof Sharifah is also the co-founder and Director of Optimal Systems Engineering Sdn Bhd, a UTM Spin-off company.
Principal (Energy), Group Technical Solutions
Grace Ann Yap Su-Mei is a Principal Engineer with a specialization in Energy with Group Technical Solutions, Petroliam Nasional Bhd (PETRONAS). She has led more than 10 energy optimisation studies including Strategic Energy Optimization and Integration projects in the various PETRONAS refinery, gas and petrochemical facilities.
Chief Business Officer
Aimi Aizreen Nasharuddin is the Chief Business Officer of MDV, overseeing both the Business & PR & Communications Divisions. He also oversees MDV’s overall business growth. He was previously the Vice President of Corporate Client in ING Bank (M) Bhd. Prior to this, he has worked with Ambank, EON Bank, Bank of Nova Scotia and HSBC Bank.
Deputy Director General
Dr. Mohd Nor Azman Hassan is currently the Deputy Secretary General (Technology Development) of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation. He oversees the policies and development of science, technology and innovation ecosystem to support the socio-economic development of the country.
Christoph Brunner is the CEO of AEE INTEC in Austria. Before, he was head of department IPE – Industrial Processes and Energy Systems at AEE INTEC. He is the member of the board of the European technology platform for Renewable Heating and Cooling RHC- ETIP.
Professor Dr. Nasrudin is the Founder and Director of the UM Power Energy Dedicated Advanced Centre (UMPEDAC), one of the ten nationally acclaimed Higher Institutions’ Centre of Excellence (HICoE) of the Ministry of Higher Education (MoHE).
Head of Biogas Operation
Ir. Loh Sin Seng is the Head for Biogas Operation in Sime Darby Plantation. He has been leading the development of renewable energy business, specifically biogas initiatives within Sime Darby Plantation. His role includes seeing to the roll-out of in-house biogas projects to meet carbon reduction target.
EnMS Expert
Zaini Abdul Wahab is an energy management consultant with over 22 years of experience in energy efficiency and sustainable energy development industry who specialises in reducing business operational costs for organisations through energy management system implementation.
General Manager
Dr. Lim Daw Yuen is currently the Marketing Manager of Technical Services Division (TSD), Sime Darby Offshore Engineering. He leads and identifies priority areas of work for the Company in Gas Turbine & Gas Engine Cogeneration, District Cooling, CNG Stations, and BioCNG and other renewable energy business.
Deputy Director (Energy Efficiency & Conservation), Demand Side Management Unit
Zulkiflee Umar is currently the Deputy Director of Energy Efficiency & Conservation, Department of Industry Operation of Energy Commission Malaysia.
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) & Technical Advisor (Thermal Energy)
Prof. Zainuddin Abdul Manan is the founding Dean of UTM Faculty of Chemical and Energy Engineering, founder of UTM Sustainable Energy Management Program and the CEO and founder of the UTM spin-off company OPTIMISE Sdn Bhd.
Tham Chee Aun is the founder and CEO of Ditrolic Energy Group with over 12 years of experience in the solar and renewable energy field. As one of the early starters of the industry in South East Asia, he has broad experience in business development, project execution, corporate and project structuring as well as wide exposure in renewable energy finance and contracts.
Senior Deputy Director (Services) in Engineering Services Division
Ir. Dr. Khairul Azmy Kamaluddin is a Senior Deputy Director (Services) in Engineering Services Division, Ministry of Health.
Ir. Au Chong Hun is Director of Primetech Engineers Sdn Bhd and holds an Honours Degree in Mechanical Engineering from University of Malaya. He is a member in the Technical Committee for Fire Properties of Building Material and serves as a Working Group member for various Malaysian Standards.
Assistant Director, Energy Efficiency & Conservation Unit
Norazrin bin Rupadi is the Assistant Director of the Energy Efficiency & Conservation Unit of Suruhanjaya Tenaga. He has 10 years’ experience involvement in Energy Management and Energy Efficiency.
Principal Director
Ar. Serina Hijjas is one of the creative directors at HIJJAS Architects & Planners and is known for changing the building landscape of architecture through buildings that are responsive, energy conscious + bold. Her formative years exposed her to energy efficiency and sustainable design and have culminated in projects like the Heriot Watt University ‘green campus’.
Director (Energy Analyst)
Ibrahim Ariffin's expertise in power system analysis and prowess in power simulation tools such as PSSE, his previous responsibilities included the formulation of the Annual Transmission Development Plan for Peninsular Malaysia and assessment of the development of cross-border grid connections such as the ASEAN Power Grid.
Head of Research Center for Electricity, Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation
Dr. Hariyanto is a Head of Research Center and Development for electricity, renewable energy and energy conservation, Agency for Research and Development of Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources of Republic of Indonesia.
Represented Companies / Gov. Agencies
Media Gallery